Servicios de Inmigración y Empleo

Noticias de Inmigración
New Federal Skilled Worker Program – Information for Applicants

The Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) selects immigrants based on a point system, or “points grid”, which determines their potential for economic success in Canada. Applicants must meet eligibility requirements, following this, they are assessed on criteria for which they are awarded points for official language abilities, age, education, work experience, employment already arranged in Canada and adaptability.  Out of 100 points at least 67 must be reached in order to pass.

After a pause on the processing of FWSP applications, in effect since July 1, 2012, Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) will resume accepting applications on May 4, 2013 with changes to the program.

As of May 4, 2013, the application process, including new selection criteria, will be posted on the CIC website.  Starting on this date all applications submitted must meet the new criteria, or they will not be processed.  All potential applicants must fulfill at least one of the following requirements:
•    One year of continuous work experience in one of the 24 eligible occupations listed below
•    A qualifying offer of arranged employment
•    Eligibility to apply through the PhD stream
In addition, the applicants must also meet the minimum language threshold and meet the requirements of an educational credential assessment (of foreign credentials).

Eligible Occupations
The maximum number of new applications that will be accepted is 5,000 and 300 for each of the occupations on the list.
        1.    Engineering managers
        2.    Financial and investment analysts
        3.    Geoscientists and oceanographers
        4.    Civil engineers
        5.    Mechanical engineers
        6.    Chemical engineers
        7.    Mining engineers
        8.    Geological engineers
        9.    Petroleum engineers
      10.    Aerospace engineers
      11.    Computer engineers (except software engineers/designers)
      12.    Land surveyors
      13.    Computer programmers and interactive media developers
      14.    Industrial instrument technicians and mechanics
      15.    Inspectors in public and environmental health and occupational health and safety
      16.    Audiologists and speech-language pathologists
      17.    Physiotherapists
      18.    Occupational Therapists
      19.    Medical laboratory technologists
      20.    Medical laboratory technicians and pathologists' assistants
      21.    Respiratory therapists, clinical perfusionists and cardiopulmonary technologists
      22.    Medical radiation technologists
      23.    Medical sonographers
      24.    Cardiology technicians and electrophysiological diagnostic technologists

Minimum Language Threshold
The FSWP requires all applicants to meet the new minimum language threshold: Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 or Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens (NCLC) 7 in all four skills (listening, speaking, reading, and writing). The language proficiency test must be taken in one of the agencies designated by the Minister and submitted along with FWSP application to the CIC.
These are:
•    Canadian English Language Proficiency Index Program (CELPIP)
•    International English Testing System (IELTS)
•    Test d’évaluation de français (TEF)

Pic 2
Pic 1