Immigration and Employment Services

Immigration Programs and Categories

All information relevant to the question of immigrating to Canada can be found in the official document, the Immigration Refugee Protection Act (IRPA). This document defines all categories of immigrants, as well as the necessary procedures that are employed in the quest of obtaining permanent resident status.

One of the fundamental issues that every immigrant must be familiar with is the classification system of Canada’s permanent residents. IRPA identifies four categories of people who are granted permanent residence. These are:

1. Persons who can contribute to the continuing economic development of Canada (in the fields of finance, education, research…);

2. Persons who have family connections in Canada;

3. Refugees seeking safety;

4. Other persons who do not fit into the three afore mentioned categories.

You can find further information on the topic of immigration under “Immigration News.”

Thus, we have a family class, business class, refugee class, and others. Each one of these four main categories specifies subcategories (immigration programs), as well as a detailed criteria of assessment. Generally, they can be characterized in the following manner:

The First Category includes people whose vocation, experience and skills are, and will be, beneficial in the economic development of Canada. This is the group of professionals, business people (who can start their own ventures), as well as people who are sought after by the demands of a given region for certain specialists. A special group within this category consists of caregivers for children, physically and mentally challenged people, and seniors.

The Second Category is for people of various ethnic backgrounds who have family members in Canada. The more immediate the family ties, the better for the candidate.

The Third Category is for refugees, a.k.a. persons whose health and/or life is endangered in their homeland, or who are persecuted or discriminated against for reasons such as: political, religions, racial, sexual orientation, etc. Canada is a country that has signed the international policy for the protection of persecuted individuals. By granting permanent resident status to refugees, Canada fulfills its humanitarian and compassionate duties.

The Fourth Category is for people who are eligible to apply for permanent resident status in Canada, but who do not fit into the previous categories. For example, people who can be accepted on humanitarian grounds, but who do not have the same circumstances as described in the refugee category. Also, retired persons who have a secure retirement fund enabling them to live in Canada can make use of this option, and in some cases, people who have legally worked in Canada for a minimum of 3 or 5 years.

page 1 2 3

Pic 2
Pic 1